Djelem Djelem – A Couple Of Haunting Gypsy Songs

Occasionally I spend a happy and enjoyable hour or so simply following links on Youtube, with no idea of where I might end up, nor what jewels I shall stumble upon as I wander along.

So this time I was looking for a particular video of a sort of musical duel between a Jewish Kletzmer band and a Russian peasant one, and on the way to that video I came across a number of other simply beautiful pieces of music that I want to share with you guys.   So brace yourself and get ready to click away on the links below and enjoy what I have found for you.

The first is a song called Djelem Djelem, which appears to be a sort of general title in the Balkans and gypsy world for a piece of music that is especially beautiful, but I am not really sure about that – If you know, do tell me.

Other than that, I know nothing about this piece, except that it is very beautiful to listen to…. Soulful to the Nth degree I think you will agree.

Nice eh?

And here is another version of Djelem Djelem, this time sung with wonderful passion by the almost completely spherical Macedonian singer Esma Redzepova.   A superb, passionate rendition it is too!!!

In passing, I would like to draw your attention to the Wikipedia entry for her, it seems that she has had a very interesting life, done no end of good things for the Roma People (she is actually a genuine gypsy in fact) and among other extraordinary things she has done, is she and her husband fostered some 47 kids!  Anyhow, if you follow this link, you will discover what a remarkable woman she is.

And next, we have Parno Graszt ~ Káde shukár….  That is all I know about this one, I think that Kade Shukar is the title and Parno is the name of the group.. but it could well be the other way round… Who know?  Or cares?   In any event, it is a superb piece of spirited music…. impossible to keep still while listening to it.   Love it!!!

How about that?   Amazing isn’t it?

And now, the piece I set out to find this afternoon, from a film called “Zug des Lebens” (“Train de vie” or “Train of life”).   I have never seen the film itself, simply this section with the music, so I can say nothing useful about the film itself, but this clip, ah that is another matter.

However, Wikipedia (as always) does have things to say about the film – Interesting things in fact, so if you are interested, follow this link and all will be revealed:   Train of Life

I always enjoy musical duels (Must be why I am so fond of jazz, which is also basically a sort of friendly duel between musicians when you come to think of it), and this one which shows a Russian violinist soulfully playing his violin with one string instead of a bow.. very odd sound it is too, when a Jewish violinist suddenly starts up with a very spirited bit of playing – which takes the brakes off all the other musicians present, and so a wonderful musical and dancing duel starts up….  Ultimately leading to a happy fusion of the two types of folk music into one fabulous sound….

It speaks pretty well for itself I think, and shows so well the healing power of music and dance (and as you will see, large breasts too!).

I particularly enjoyed the two German Army officers dancing with each other with such gravity.

Anyhow, I love this video, and hope that you do too….

Share with us:

Let us know what you thought of these pieces of music, and share as well any other music you especially enjoy…

Leave a Reply

